Filing a DBA in Arkansas is very easy and straightforward. It allows a business to operate under a different name than the owner’s legal name. We make this process easier with our 3-step DBA guide.
Important! Please keep in mind that DBA is not a business structure, so it won’t protect you from liabilities, lawsuits, or any other unforeseen situations. DBA stands for Doing Business As. – often precedes the name under which a business operates, which is not the legal name of the business.
To register or renew the trademark, trade name, or service mark for your company in Arkansas you need to file the application to the Secretary of State. Here is what you need to do:
Arkansas Business Entity Search
Your company’s trade name should be unique and have not been acquired by any other entity in Arkansas. Moreover, this name must also meet the business name requirements of Arkansas.
First, visit the Arkansas Secretary of State’s website and search for the DBA that you wish to have for your business. Here, make sure, this name isn’t already in use.
Note: You can also find a complete guide on business name search here.
Once you are done searching, the next step is to review the naming requirements of the state of Arkansas. Your DBA should not include:
- Words that are commonly used by a government agency such as Treasury, FBI, State Department, etc.
- Any word or phrase that implies or suggest that the LLC is operating for a purpose other than the one contained in its Articles of Organization.
- Words indicating or implying that your company is engaged in an unauthorized business by law to pursue.
- Words related to banking, educatiom or insurance may require additional paperwork.
- Words related to professional designation (i.e., engineering, consultant, attorney). To include such prefixes or suffixes, you will need a copy of the license of one of your company’s officers or members. If not possible, you must acquire a letter from the governing agency allowing the use of such a name without licensing.
Apply for Arkansas DBA for Soleproprietorship
Sole proprietorships in Arkansas need to file a fictitious name to an appropriate county clerk’s office(s). The DBA must be filed in the respective county where your business conducts or transacts business.
Please contact your county’s clerk to file DBA for your partnership or sole proprietorship. You can find the contact information of your respective county’s clerk at Arkansa state association of counties.
Filing fee for sole proprietorship vary from county to couty.
Register Your Arkansas DBA for LLC & Corporation ($22.50 – $25)
The following entities file their Application for DBA with the Arkansas Secretary of State rather than applying to county’s clerk:
- Limited Liability Companies
- Nonprofit Corporations
- Professional Corporations
- Professional Associations
- General Partnerships
- Limited Partnerships
- Limited Liability Partnerships
- Any Foreign Filing Entities
Arkansas State Secretary of State,
Business Services Division,
1401 W. Capitol Avenue, Suite 250,
Little Rock, AR 72201.
The following information must include in the Arkansas trade name form:
- Your business name
- Entity type (eg; LLC, sole proprietorship, partnership, corporation)
- Trade name’s description
- Business License number
For all partnerships filing fee is $13.50 online and $15 by mail or in-person. Whereas, Corporations and LLCs have to pay $22.50 online and $25 by mail or in-person.
Note: The Arkansas DBA does not expire so you do not have to refile or renew your fictitious name in Arkansas.